Read all of VTDigger's 2022 primary election night coverage

A voter enters a polling place in Burlington on primary day, Tuesday, August 9, 2022. Photo by Glenn Russell/VTDigger

Updated at 1:00 a.m.

The results of Tuesday's historic Vermont primary election are in.

The earliest races to be called were the least competitive: Democratic candidates for governor (Brenda Siegel) and state treasurer (Mike Pieciak) were uncontested, and U.S. Rep. Peter Welch, D-Vt., had broad support in the Democratic primary for U.S. Senate. The Associated Press called the Republican gubernatorial primary for Gov. Phil Scott at 8:00 p.m. The U.S. Senate race did, however, see one twist: Political newcomer Gerald Malloy defeated former U.S. Attorney Christina Nolan, who was widely favored to win the Republican nomination.

By 9:00 p.m., the closely watched Democratic primary for Vermont's sole U.S. House seat was over. Vermont Senate President Pro Tempore Becca Balint is poised to become the state's first woman — and first openly LGBTQ+ person — in Congress. Balint won a decisive victory over her chief rival, Lt. Gov. Molly Gray, who conceded at her campaign headquarters in Burlington. Liam Madden, a self-described independent, won the Republican primary.

As of 10:00 p.m., three more competitive statewide races had been called. David Zuckerman overcame a crowded Democratic field to win the lieutenant governor nomination. The former LG is set to face Republican state Sen. Joe Benning in the general election. Charity Clark defeated Rory Thibault in the attorney general's race, and Chittenden County State's Attorney Sarah George fended off police-backed challenger Ted Kenney to win another four-year term.

Throughout the night, only one competitive statewide race was still too close to call: Sarah Copeland Hanzas held a narrow lead over Chris Winters in the Democratic primary for secretary of state. By early Wednesday morning, with all but two precincts reporting, Copeland Hanzas had eked out a win.

—Mike Dougherty

US House

Becca Balint, the leader of the Vermont Senate, has won the Democratic primary for the state’s lone U.S. House seat, handily defeating her chief rival, Lt. Gov. Molly Gray.

Liam Madden, a self-described independent, defeated two GOP candidates to win the Republican nomination.

US Senate

U.S. Rep. Peter Welch scored an early and decisive victory Tuesday night in the Democratic primary for Vermont’s open U.S. Senate seat. Welch is set to face Gerald Malloy, who defeated former federal prosecutor Christina Nolan in a stunning upset victory.

Lieutenant governor

David Zuckerman is advancing to November’s general election, having defeated Kitty Toll, Charlie Kimbell and Patricia Preston for the Democratic nomination for lieutenant governor. He is set to face state Sen. Joe Benning, R-Caledonia, who defeated Gregory Thayer for the Republican nomination Tuesday night.

Attorney general

Charity Clark won the Democratic nomination for Vermont attorney general, positioning her to become the first woman elected to the state’s top law enforcement job. The former chief of staff in the AG’s office defeated Rory Thibault, the Washington County state’s attorney.

Secretary of state

Rep. Sarah Copeland Hanzas, a veteran lawmaker and the chair of the House Government Operations Committee, eked out a win in the Democratic primary for Vermont Secretary of State. As of 1:00 a.m. Wednesday morning, Copeland Hanzas led her closest opponent, Deputy Secretary of State Chris Winters, by approximately 2,000 votes, out of about 99,000 counted.

Governor and treasurer

Brenda Siegel and Phil Scott are set to face off in the November gubernatorial race. Scott is projected to defeat two Republican primary challengers, and Siegel was unopposed in the Democratic race.

Mike Pieciak declared victory in the uncontested Democratic primary for state treasurer at 7:26 p.m.

Chittenden County state's attorney

Sarah George defeated Ted Kenney in the closely watched Democratic primary for Chittenden County state’s attorney Tuesday, defending her seat against a challenger who garnered the support of law enforcement organizations by criticizing the incumbent’s reform-minded policies. 

Vermont Senate

Chittenden: Tuesday’s primaries narrowed a pool of 14 Democratic candidates vying for state Senate in three newly redrawn districts in Chittenden County. Sen. Phil Baruth, D/P-Chittenden, and Rep. Tanya Vyhovsky, P/D-Essex, had secured spots on the ballot in the three-seat Chittenden Central district. (The third seat remained too close to call.)

In the Chittenden North district, incumbent Sens. Ginny Lyons, Kesha Ram Hinsdale and Thomas Chittenden led over challengers Lewis Mudge and Steve May.

And in the Chittenden North district, with 99% of votes tallied, Irene Wrenner led Brian Shelden with 59% of the vote.

Washington: Anne Watson, Sen. Ann Cummings and Sen. Andrew Perchlik are the three Democratic nominees for Washington County’s state Senate district. 

Windham: Democrats Nader Hashim and Wendy Harrison were leading their party primary for Windham County’s two state Senate seats, while three Republicans were locked in their own too-close-to-call race, according to incomplete results Tuesday night.

Correction: An earlier version of this story used an incorrect last name for Liam Madden.

Missing out on the latest scoop? Sign up for Final Reading for a rundown on the day's news in the Legislature.


Did you know VTDigger is a nonprofit?

Our journalism is made possible by member donations. If you value what we do, please contribute and help keep this vital resource accessible to all.

VTD Editor

Send us your thoughts

VTDigger is now accepting letters to the editor. For information about our guidelines, and access to the letter form, please click here.


Recent Stories

Thanks for reporting an error with the story, "Read all of VTDigger's 2022 primary election night coverage"
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.